Anniversary!

I was so busy working on my last post, Snapshots, I almost forgot that my blog turns one year old today. It would be amiss if I didn’t do something in honor of this happy occasion. Let me begin by saying thank you to all of you who read my blog. I am honored and humbled that you want to know what I think, especially about matters of faith.

I started Salty Bread because a year ago I found myself no longer in a preaching or teaching role and felt the need for a creative outlet and a place to work though some ideas about matters of ultimate importance. I had become an avid reader of a fellow preacher’s blog, which gave me the inspiration. So with the encouragement of some of my coworkers where I used to work I started posting my musings online. One of the biggest rewards of blogging has been reconnecting with old friends and making some new ones.

Here are some milestones, both personal and blog related, from the past year:

  • First post written specifically for this blog was actually my second post, “Six Flags Over Jesus”—appropriate to read during the holiday season
  • Moved my blog to WordPress and updated the blog’s appearance (thank you, Natalie)
  • Moved from Washington, DC area to Annapolis, MD to begin a new teaching job
  • Post that was the most cathartic to write was “Where was God?
  • Most fun to write was “Lexically Discombobulated
  • Saddest was “In Memoriam
  • Post I decided not to publish, then accidentally published, then removed it was “Pastor Julie” (email me an I might send you a copy)

Please leave a comment and let me know if you had a favorite post over the past year. I’d love to hear from you!

3 Comments

Filed under events, personal

3 responses to “Anniversary!

  1. Natalie

    Happy Blog Birthday! Two of my favorite posts were “The Descending Way” and “Founding Fiction.” I also liked the story in “Less Racism, Fewer Abortions.”

  2. Hello Professor Moger! You may (or may not!) remember me from your Western Civ classes in 2007-08. Anyway, I wanted to say I enjoy following your blog-when I have time! I look forward to reading more this coming year!

Leave a Reply

