Do Tell

In a historic 65-31 vote, the U.S. Senate today ended the ban on gays serving openly in the military. For some, this decision will seem another milestone on the path to moral decay in our country. For others, it marks the end of an era of injustice and discrimination. On thing is for sure, our society has changed and this new law is evidence of it.

I have a lot of thoughts on the issue of gays in the military, but I’m going to take some more time to formulate them before I share them here on my blog.

2 Comments

Filed under issues

2 responses to “Do Tell

  1. Matthew

    It’s been three months now! Where are your fleshed out thoughts on the issue of gays in the military?

    The way you phrased the “end of an era of injustice and discrimination” gives me the impression that you do in fact think that society has changed for the better. And I happen to agree with that. What is your full reasoning for whichever place you take on the pendulum between homosexuality as a moral decay versus a discriminated group of people?

  2. Matt,
    Thank you for your comments. Yes, I’ve been negligent in posting my views on Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell (DADT). I realized it would take at least two posts to clarify my position adequately: one on sexual morality in general and one on DADT in particular. I wrote the first one but have not been brave enough to post it. Still, for the sake of full disclosure and since you asked, I’ll give you a short summary of my views here.

    I do not believe that homosexual sex is part of God’s plan, whether or not people are born with a homosexual orientation. God intended sex for monogamous, heterosexual couples. That said, I believe there has been terrible, unfair discrimination against gays and lesbians, which I also think is wrong. Many conservative Christians and others put homosexuals in a different moral category than other sinners; I don’t. We’re all sinners but God still loves us.

    Even though the military is a unique environment with its own special requirements and challenges, I believe lifting DADT and allowing gays and lesbians to serve openly in the military is the right thing to do. Since DADT policy was first adopted in 1993, gays and lesbians have served legally and honorably in the military, even in combat, albeit in the closet. The burden of proof is on those who say that they should not be allowed to “tell” their sexual orientation.

    Concerns over privacy and decency cannot trump civil liberties. Only if there were evidence that lifting DADT would make it extremely difficult or impossible to accomplish the mission of the US Armed Forces, then I believe a legitimate case could be made for keeping the ban in place. However, I have seen no such evidence. Lifting the ban on gays and lesbians serving openly in the military was the right thing to do.

    I hope this helps.

    Peace,
    TM

Leave a Reply

